Notice: This article is more than one year old and is part of the Henry Ford College news archive. Information in the article may be outdated. For the most current news and information about Henry Ford College, please visit, or contact
Release Date: 
Tuesday, August 20, 2019

HFC wins 2019 MCCA Outstanding Team/Collaboration Education Award

MCCA logo

The Michigan Occupational Deans Administrative Council, in association with the Michigan Community College Association and the annual TRENDS Conference, recently awarded HFC the Outstanding Team/Collaboration Education Award for 2019.

Dr. Susan Shunkwiler, dean of HFC Health and Human Services (HHS), nominated Dr. Michael Nealon, HFC Vice President of Academic Affairs, and 19 other HFC team members for their extraordinary efforts to enroll displaced ITT Technical Institute students at HFC when that for-profit vocational school closed more than 130 campuses across 39 states, including five campuses in Michigan in 2016.

Shunkwiler and Nealon wanted to acknowledge the efforts of the following HFC team members, whose expertise and hard work was invaluable during a very tumultuous time for those displaced students:

• Janice Bartos, Nursing Program Coordinator

• A. Reginald Best, Vice President of Institutional Advancement

• Dr. Patricia Chatman, Dean, School of Business, Entrepreneurship, and Professional Development

• Kevin Culler, Executive Director, Financial Services & Financial Aid

• Holly Diamond, Executive Director of Enrollment Services/Registrar

• Karen Elsersy, Nursing Division Secretary

• Dr. Jennifer Ernst, Dean, School of Liberal Arts

• Dr. Paul Fisher, Economics Faculty

• Julie Fountain, Student Success Navigator for Nursing

• Janice Gilliland, Dean, School of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math

• David Haines, New Student Mentor Program/Nursing Lab Faculty

• Lisa Hastings, Assistant to the Dean of HHS

• Stephanie Latzke, Assistant Director – Financial Aid

• Denise Modrzynski, Project Manager, Academic Affairs

• Trina Moore, Faculty Chair – Nursing

• Lorraine Paffenroth, Advising and Student Success Manager

• Caroline Peltz, New Student Mentor Program Director, Nursing

• Julie Richert, Nursing Academic Affairs Assistant

• Debra Szymanski, Associate Dean, HHS

“This is a well-deserved honor for the diverse team that came to the rescue of the ITT students,” said Nealon. “While I might have led the charge, this was truly a team effort from beginning to end, and we are all very proud of that.”