Voter Registration Drive begins Aug. 27

Release Date: Monday, June 18, 2018

Voter Registration Drive begins Aug. 27

Event Date: Mon, 08/27/2018 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm Location: Lobby of the Reuther Liberal Arts Building (Bldg. K)
voter registration ad ("Are you registered to vote?")

The HFC Office of Student Activities will be holding a 2018 Voter Registration Drive starting Monday, Aug. 27. The drive allows students to register to vote on campus and encourages them to exercise their right to vote on every Election Day. Students must be registered to vote in order to participate in the upcoming national and statewide election, Tuesday, Nov. 6.

The registration deadline is Wednesday, Oct. 3rd.

Students may come to the Student Activities Office (Rm. M-105 in Building M) any time during regular business hours to complete a Michigan Voter Registration Application. The office mails the applications to the respective city clerks’ offices.

Voter Eligibility Requirements

To register to vote, you must be:

  • A citizen of the United States
  • A resident of Michigan
  • A 30-day resident of the city where you are currently living
  • At least 18 years old by Election Day (Nov. 6)

Proof of citizenship is not required to fill out an application. You may use the following forms of ID when you go to your polling place to vote:

  • a driver’s license or identification card issued by Michigan,
  • a U.S. passport,
  • a photo ID issued by a federal or state government,
  • a military ID with photo,
  • a high school or college photo ID, or
  • a tribal ID with photo.

2018 Voter Registration Drive

You can register to vote on the following days and locations:

  • Monday, Aug. 27, from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. in the Reuther Liberal Arts Building (Bldg. K)
  • Wednesday, Aug. 29, from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. in the MacKenzie Fine Arts Center (Bldg. F)
  • Thursday, Sept. 6, from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. in the Health Sciences Education Center (Bldg. G)
  • Monday, Sept. 10, from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. in the Student & Culinary Arts (Bldg. M)
  • Wednesday, Sept. 12, from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. in the Quad Area outside in the center of campus
  • Thursday, Sept. 13, from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. in the Quad Area outside in the center of campus
  • Monday, Sept. 17, from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. in the the Student & Culinary Arts (Bldg. M)*
  • Tuesday, Sept. 18, from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. in the the Student & Culinary Arts (Bldg. M)*
  • Wednesday, Sept. 19, from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. in the the Student & Culinary Arts (Bldg. M)*
  • Thursday, Sept. 20, from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. in the the Student & Culinary Arts (Bldg. M)*
  • Tuesday, Sept. 25, from 11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. in the the Student & Culinary Arts (Bldg. M)**
  • Tuesday, Sept. 25, from 11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. in the Reuther Liberal Arts Building (Bldg. K)**
  • Thursday, Sept. 27, from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. in the Health Sciences Education Center (Bldg. G)
  • Monday, Oct. 1, from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. in the Health Sciences Education Center (Bldg. G)
  • Wednesday, Oct. 3, from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. in the Reuther Liberal Arts Building (Bldg. K)

*Welcome Back Days at HFC will take place from Monday, Sept. 17, to Thursday, Sept. 20
**National Voter Registration Day is Tuesday, Sept. 25