Student Clubs and Organizations

Student Clubs are coordinated through the Student Activities Office, Student and Culinary Arts Center, Room 105.

Cassandra Fluker, Student Activities Officer
Phone: (313) 845-9838
Email: crfluker@hfcc.edu

For information on how to join a student club, or to form a new club, please contact:

Michele Featherston
Phone: (313) 845-9865
Fax: (313) 317-6551
Email: mfeather@hfcc.edu

Join a Club Today

Click here to open the Club Interest Form. It's easy; open and print the form and indicate which clubs you are interested in joining. Return the completed form to the Student Activities Office. Sign up today!

Student Clubs and Faculty Advisors

African American Association

Promotes and provides awareness of African American culture and history through educational programs, community involvement, and campus activities.

Advisor: Kalvin Harvell, (313) 317-1533; kharvell@hfcc.edu

All Around Art Association

Focuses on the skills and talents of members and helps members gain recognition for their skill through campus and community events, and community service. The club seeks students who are interested in drawing, poetry, music, writing, sketching, graphics, and other art forms.

Advisor: Anne Garavaglia, agaravaglia@hfcc.edu

Amnesty International

The mission of Amnesty International is to undertake research and action focused on preventing and ending grave abuses of the rights to physical and mental integrity, freedom of conscience and expression, and freedom from discrimination, within the context of its work to promote all human rights. Amnesty International is independent of any government, political ideology or religious creed. It is concerned solely with the impartial protection of human rights.

Advisor: Geraldine Grunow, (313) 845-6421; ggrunow@hfcc.edu

Arab Student Union

Increases awareness among Arabs and non-Arabs by promoting academic, cultural, political, and social activities on campus and in the community.

Advisor: Dr. Hashim Al-Tawil, (313) 845-6489; hal-tawil@hfcc.edu

Astronomy Club

Encourages student involvement to see the fun side of astronomy and science. Works with other clubs to increase interest in the math and science worlds.

Advisor: Steve Murrell, (313) 317-1536; srmurrell@hfcc.edu

Baking Club

Students learn about baking and pastry arts. The club provides the opportunity to learn about careers in baking and pastry arts and improve skills in baking and pastry. Students participate in community events to refine and improve their skills.

Advisor: Kris Jablonski, (313) 320-3761; kwjablonski@hfcc.edu

Christian Club

The club works to promote education about Christianity. The Christian Club promotes spiritual awareness, bible study, outreach programs and fellowship for students who are interested in Christian principles and philosophies.

Advisors:
Carla Bell: (313) 845-6417; cbell@hfcc.edu
Mary Rayhall: (313) 845-9744; mrayhall@hfcc.edu

Community Service Club

The club promotes student involvement in community service projects at the college and within the community. Projects include campus activities, service based learning projects, and mentoring programs. This is a "hands on" club that encourages members to help others and make a difference in this world.

Advisor: Michele Featherston, (313) 845-9865; mfeather@hfcc.edu

Criminal Justice Club

Provides educational programs, lectures, and career opportunities for students interested in criminal justice and related careers. Participates in community events related to the criminal justice system.

Advisor: Greg Osowski, (313) 845-9859; gsowski@hfcc.edu

Diversity Club

Fosters a learning and understanding of the various student populations at Henry Ford Community College. Works to educate and challenge the student body to think critically about our differences, and to establish an atmosphere of tolerance at HFCC.

Advisor: Paul Rodgers, (313) 317-6673; prodgers@hfcc.edu

Film Club

Studies filmmaking techniques and genre differences, reviews movies, and critiques films. The Film Club provides learning opportunities.

Advisor: Alan Contino, (313) 845-6475; alan@hfccvtl.org

Future Teachers Association

Promotes career opportunities in teaching. Provides educational forums, workshops, and community service projects related to careers in education.

Advisor: Deborah Zopf, (313) 845-6430; dzopf@hfcc.edu

Graphic Novel Club

This club encourages students to read and share their enjoyment of graphics novels and the media and share their own experiences with different types of media, including graphic novels from other countries and cultures.

Advisor: Kevin Trovini, (313) 845-9684; ktrovini@hfcc.edu

HFCC Rotaract Club

Students will perform community service projects with the Dearborn Rotary Club. Students have the opportunity to develop knowledge and understanding of the needs, problems and opportunities in the community and worldwide. The club strives to develop the professional and leadership skills of club members.

Advisor: Dr. Peter Kim, (313) 317-6682; pkim@hfcc.edu

HFCC Student Veterans Association

This organization will service members and dependents of the United States Armed Forces by maintaining a welcoming atmosphere for Veterans transitioning from Military to civilian life and services for Veterans within the community. This organization will bring people together through respect and the desire to help our nation’s heroes and their families.

Advisor: Napolean Quick, (313) 845-9611; nquick@hfcc.edu

HFCC Team Ceramics

Creates awareness and appreciation of clay as an art form. Provides workshops for artistic ideas and concepts. Provides a forum for students to display and promote their work.

Advisor: Steven Glazer, (313) 845-6485; sglazer@hfcc.edu

Ice Carving Club

The Ice Carving Club is a "hands on learning" club. Students learn the art of ice carving and have the opportunity to participate in community events that promote ice carving and allow members to display their work.

Advisor: Jeff Lao, (313) 845-6391; jilao1@hfcc.edu; website

Informance Assurance Alliance Club

This club provides support to members by encouraging networking and by attending events outside the campus that provide educational opportunities. The club strives to encourage student success through educational programs and helps students with computer security issues.

Advisor: Marrci Conner, (313) 317-4021; mrconner2@hfcc.edu

International Student Organization

The main purpose of the organization is to promote social interaction among international students and expose students to different cultural backgrounds.

Advisor: Lina Jawad, (313) 317-6842; lhjawad@hfcc.edu

Intervarsity Christian Fellowship

Promotes God's work and God's people of every ethnicity and culture. Offers discussion groups and group activities that center around the word of God.

Advisor: Cheryl Garrett; (313) 845-9730; cdgarrett@hfcc.edu

Lebanese American Heritage Club

Promotes the cultural and customs of Lebanon and works with other clubs to promote cultural understanding and cooperation with others.

Advisor: Imad Nouri, (313) 845-9750; inouri@hfcc.edu

Math Club

Provides information about career opportunities in the math field. Provides challenging activities and opportunities for students.

Advisor: Dr. Thomas Kelley, (313) 845-6492; tkelley@hfcc.edu

Mirror News - Student Newspaper

The Mirror News is a student run paper covering campus and community events. Students are encouraged to pursue creative talents by writing, photography, graphics, and reporting.

Advisor: Cassandra Fluker, (313) 845-9838; crfluker@hfcc.edu

Muslim Students Association (MSA)

Promotes an understanding of Muslim beliefs through community service projects, educational forums, and public awareness. The MSA strives to promote unity among people.

Advisor: Kamal Shenaq, (313) 673-4665; kmshenaq@hfcc.edu

National Society for Leadership & Success

The Society supplies students with the tools to implement a program that transforms students’ lives. The Society offers life-changing lectures, success networking teams, orientation sessions, induction ceremony, and scholarship opportunities. The Society believes in engaged learning, accountability for student success, and increase student satisfaction.

Advisor: Brian Stewart, (313) 845-9637; bnstewart@hfcc.edu

Paralegal Studies Club

The Legal Assistant Association strives to promote education, character and desirable traits of a legal assistant. Provides educational forums and workshops for students and provides a networking base for career opportunities.

Advisor: Shelly Loomus, JD, MSW, (313) 317-4158; rsloomus@hfcc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa

An honors based organization based on community service, leadership, fellowship, and scholarships. Students are required to maintain a 3.25 grade point average and have completed 12 credit hours to join.

Advisor: Laura Yeakel, (313) 845-9721; lyeakel@hfcc.edu

Pre-Pharmacy Club

The pre-pharmacy club helps prepare students for a career as a pharmacist by providing information about pharmacy schools, helping students develop a portfolio, and provide field trips and contact information for students.

Advisor: D. Todd Whitaker, (313) 845-9724; whitaker@hfcc.edu

Programming Club

Shares knowledge and expertise of computer programming and provides professional networking opportunities for students.

Advisor: Kim Moscardelli; (313) 317-1549; kimm@hfcc.edu Co-Advisor: Margaret Green; mgreen@hfcc.edu

Psi Beta-National Honor Society in Psychology

This association serves as a means of national recognition of the student's early interest in and dedication to the field of psychology and to scholastic achievement. The organization provides a forum for developing one's perspective about psychology and helps build a sense of community and identity with others in the field. The association will enhance the leadership skills of members, encourage research and provide opportunities for student/faculty interaction outside the classroom.

Advisor: Elaine Louisell, (313) 845-9713; delouisell@hfcc.edu

Science Association

The purpose of the Science and Medicine Club is to promote science and how it relates to society. The club will hold projects and activities that relate to science, to future generations, and career choices.

Advisors:
Gregory Karapetian, (313) 845-9739; gkkarapetian@hfcc.edu
Joshua Osborn, (313) 317-1747; jcosborn@hfcc.edu

Student Environmental Association

Promotes and provides programs that help the environment. Contributes to the understanding and appreciation of problems associated with the preservation of natural resources and wildlife. Provides a forum to discuss environmental concerns.

Advisor: Mr. William Secrest, (313) 845-644; wsecrest@hfcc.edu

Student Nurses Association

Provides career information, educational programs, leadership opportunities, and community service programs for student nurses.

Advisors:
Cathy Gangarossa, (313) 845-6366; gangarossa@hfcc.edu
Peggy Kearney, (313) 845-6303; pakearney@hfcc.edu

Web Design Club

Provides discussion groups and hands on activities for students interested in web design and development of web pages.

Advisor: David Maier, (313) 845-9890; djmaier@hfcc.edu; website

Yemen Student Association

Educates the campus community about Yemeni culture. Promotes student involvement, education, campus lectures and cultural events.

Advisor: Dr. Adnan Salhi, (313) 845-6407; asalhi26271@hfcc.edu; website

For additional information, contact:

Michele Featherston
Phone: (313) 845-9865
Email: mfeather@hfcc.edu
Office: Student and Culinary Arts Center, Room 105